Photo of voting

Only two MHKs return for third term

Fri, 23 Sep 2016

Rushen MHK Juan Watterson
Rushen MHK Juan Watterson

There will be a new look to the House of Keys when members are sworn in next week as just two politicians return for a third term.

Rushen MHK Juan Watterson - who served as Home Affairs Minister under the last administration - and Graham Cregeen of Arbory, Castletown and Malew are the only MHKs two have served two full terms.

The voting public chose to re-elect just 12 MHKs, picking a dozen new faces to serve for the next five years.

Four of the candidates who were re-elected will serve their first full term, having won their seats in by-elections since the 2011 General Election.

The House of Keys will meet next Tuesday to swear in members and elect a speaker.

Bookmark and Share
Follow us on Facebookfollow us on Twitter